Reviews

New, clean, stylish, it had everything we could want and was a great base from which to do all sorts of fun things for the family… Hurrah for North Farm, it made a great holiday and we hope to come again.

We have worked hard to make the Cottages and the Shepherd's Hut lovely places to come on holiday and it seems that our guests agree. Jump further down the page to the see the Shepherd's Hut reviews.

Reviews of Barn Owl and Kingfisher Cottages

2020

The cottage is beautiful, immaculate and very well-designed and kitted out for both long and short stays.  August 2020

We love coming here for many reasons but the main one is how welcome we are made to feel, how everything has been thought about. We don't have to worry about whether the children will be safe or have enough to occupy them as everything is here in a secure location. October 2020

Fantastic place to stay. Idyllic setting. Lovely hosts. The cottage was great and had everything and more for staying with our young family. September 2020

Beautiful surroundings and very well-equipped cottage! Also enjoyed looking at the pottery. September 2020

Facilities excellent and a great location for exploring the broads and coast. Beautifully clean cottage, extremely comfortable beds, cosy and warm in the evenings, lots of thoughtful touches. September 2020

Cottage is perfect. Beds are super comfy and enclosed garden and toys are spot on for the children. August 2020

The cottage is so quiet and comfortable and had an amazing array of toys and boy for our toddler. We loved exploring the area and the cottage is in a perfect location. August 2020

A home from home. We loved our daily visits to see the chickens, cows and your neighbour's sheep. Many memories made and we hope to return. August 2020

Very comfortable and well stocked. Convenient to get to most places in Norfolk. Veyr tranquil setting. Fresh air and a break from citylife. July 2020

Our stay was made by the lovely enclosed garden for our daughter to play in and explore. The garden toys and bikes were fantastic and a great treat. We had a wonderful stay, Kingfisher barn is bright, open and peaceful. July 2020

Barn Owl Cottage is just simply idyllic and the eco-cottage has everything you could possibly need which made our stay super easy and enjoyable. The private garden was kitted out with play equipment for my two young children and the kids enjoyed feeding the chickens and loved eating cherries from the tree too.

Such a wonderful place to get away from it all, country walks and riverside picnics in nearby Oxnead as well as picking up some lovely handmade things in the pottery studio on site. Simply delightful! Keyworkers during the Covid crisis, June 2020 

Such a great location to go exploring and close enough to get to the coast. Thank you for making a last minute trip so effortless.April 2020

Kingfisher cottage was spotless, comfortable and very well equipped, even down to washing detergent and dishwasher tabs. The washing machine and tumble dryer meant that I didn't come home with a mountain of washing to do which was nice! They provided a cot, highchair and toys which made packing for a family of 5 so much easier! Gill was lovely and ever so helpful. The children loved saving our scraps to feed to the chickens, and Gill let them keep the eggs they had laid on the morning we fed them which they thought was really special. 

The cottage is in such a great location, with so many things to do in the local area. We visited Blickling Hall, Felbrigg Hall, Cromer, Norwich, Amazona Zoo,and 2 soft play areas, all of which were just a short drive away. February 2020

Wonderful stay. Cottage very accessible and toddler/baby-friendly and the egg hunt was a delight. January 2020

2019

“As soon as I arrived at North Farm, I knew it was going to be the perfect get-away. Far removed from busy roads, and residential areas. This place is situated amongst grassy fields and beautiful meadows. The farm grounds are utterly charming.”

We don’t really want to tell anyone else about this. We want to keep it our special place... but I know these lovely people need other people to stay as well so all I will say is it’s the best place we have stayed. September 2019

A lovely setting and exceptionally well-equipped and furnished cottages. August 2019

Fabulous. All of us were amazed by the local/facilities/homeliness. Better than we could have dreamed. August 2019

Idyllic, perfect location to explore areas on Norfolk. Everything was provided and catered for which made for a very relaxing few days. June 2019

Thanks for a lovely stay - baby equipment and toys were so useful. A very relaxing holiday (well, as relaxing as any holiday is with 3 children)!! May 2019

A lovely, quiet location, well-equipped cottage and a lovely welcome hamper. Flick is quick to respond, helpful and makes sure that the cottage is set up as well as it can be for your needs. April 2019

“I don’t think we’ve ever rented such a comfortable and well-equipped cottage before, and we’ve been to quite a few! We really enjoyed the peace, quiet and space, as well as watching the Barn Owl fly to an fro and feed its young."

2018

Thank you for letting us stay on your farm. It's a fabulous place; quiet, clean, spacious, comfortable and private. December 2018

The cottage was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed to have a lovely stay. The attention to detail was great, even a log burner for those winter evenings. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Norfolk. December 2018

Thank you, as ever, for a fabulous place to stay - the children are already asking to come back again soon! November 2018

Such a lovely place to stay. Couldn't fault it for cleanliness and comfort. The thoughtful touches were also great for instance, staying with children of any age was catered for from bath toys for little ones right up to a games room which my teenage boys loved. Will definitely be returning. October 2018

A wonderful week at this family friendly barn. Our 2 and 4 year old were well entertained by the amazing garden toys, books, endless indoor toys, bath toys and drawing equipment. Gill, our host was there whenever we needed her, nothing was too much trouble! September 2018

The cottage is very comfortable, peaceful and throughtfully set-up. As an artistic lone-traveller, I have found North Farm is the perfect location for visiting country places, bird watching, churches, the Cathedral, printmakers, potters, photographers - and at the the end of the day, a relaxing place to return to. September 2018

Fantastic! Beautiful spot, lovely welcoming cottages with all we needed. Kids' toys - fab and loved the welcome pack too! August 2018

Great accommodation for families with young children(but also any age group) . Good central location with everything within easy reach . Would definitely recommend to friends and family. The welcome hamper is also a very nice touch. July 2018

We liked playing snooker, riding on the little tractors, playing swingball and looking at the pottery. We had so much fun as it is was easy to get to lots of places for adventures.May 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous week staying in Kingfisher. It was so lovely to have all the equipment we needed for the children there ready for us, rather than having to bring it along. And we very much appreciated the welcome hamper! The cottage is very child friendly and having a safe, enclosed garden, complete with outdoor toys, was perfect for our two. And lots of trips to visit the tractor were the icing on the cake! May 2018

Our stay at North Farm was too short! The little extra touches like buns and bread rolls made it really special plus we appreciate the toys, book and childcare equipment, is makes everything so much easier! We' love to come back again in the summer so we can make the most of the wonderful garden and farm setting.
N, T and J (aged 1), March 2018

Our 3 and 1 year olds loved all the indoor and outdoor toys (especially the bath toys) and the comprehensive range of kitchen equipment for kids - especially the cups, plates etc. It made meal times much easier.  March 2018

Reviews of the Shepherd's Hut

This hut is absolutely charming. We wished for a “get away from it all” break and it couldn’t have been better. We didn’t want to leave, but after some freshly cooked eggs (which we were able to purchase from our host) we said our farewells and I have an inkling that we may be back…

2020

Beautiful location, very nice private bathroom and kitchen space. Lovely hosts. Equipment provided was fantastic e.g chairs and table for outdoors as well as a BBQ. August 2020

The owners were so kind. Hut was very clean and everything was ready for us. We had an absolute ball of a time. August 2020

A perfect break after lockdown. We loved seeing the barn owl on an evening, strolling round the garden and watching the vegetables grow. A perfect combination of cooking and sitting outside and comfortable and cosy space inside - ideal camping. July 2020

The peacefulness and natural beauty have been most restorative. 

2019

Amazing place to stay! The Shepherd’s hut and the location is so beautiful! Definitely recommended, wish we could have stayed longer! May 2019

The Shepherd's Hut was so beautiful and peaceful and you do feel totally isolated from the rest of the world. Exactly what we wanted! Gill and her husband who live on the farm are lovely, they made us feel so welcome but whilst also leaving us to it. I also thought the little boxes of BBQ supplies (including wine glasses of course) was such a cute touch. As well as tea, coffee and sugar in little Jars. April 2019